Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 3525 reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...352 353 next

Tapa

19 Shore Place, EH6 6SW, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

2 from ciamara (42%) on February 28th, 2016 (1 year ago)

We bought a voucher to get £25 worth of food from Tapa and booked for 3 o’clock on a Tuesday afternoon. It was only after we arrived that we became aware of their offer of (we think) any six tapas, bread and nibbles for £15 between 1 and 5 o’clock. If we had known we would have tried this restaurant long before now. Although it was our choice to eat at 3 o’clock, it was a little galling to realise that the lunchtime offer is better value than the voucher!!

Inside, this converted warehouse is nicely laid out, with nice floor, walls etc., although it could be a little darker to make more of the candles and give it a bit more atmosphere. The toilets were clean and tidy,

We chose the Delicias de Ternera, which is Braised Shin of Beef Croquettes, with two sauces, Moko Picon and Mojo Verde at £5.95; Pinchos de Pollo grilled skewers of chicken breast, at £7.95; Patatas Alioli with homemade garlic salsa, at £3.50 and Patatas a lo Pobre, which are thinly sliced potatoes, fried with onion, garlic & peppers at £3.95. We also chose the special of fried Spanish green chilis at £5.95.

Four dishes were served together with the chicken skewers coming a wee bit later. Our plates were already on the table, and were cold, and all the food came on cold plates. Needless to say it went cold very quickly. Not ideal.

The chilis were very ordinary and slightly sour. A pile of salt brought out a wee bit flavour from them. The chicken was pretty bland, and dry. The potatas alioli and a lo Pobre were both tasty. However there was just too much olive oil on all these dishes for our taste. Didn’t seem to add anything to the flavour. However, the beef croquettes were really tasty. Moist, with lots of flavour, and both the sauces were really tasty.

As it was the middle of the day we settled for water. It cost us almost another £3 on top of the cost of our voucher. As I said, the offer seemed to be far better value. You live and learn.

Overall, we found the food to be very ordinary. A disappointing experience. Two stars. One for the interior and one for the beef croquettes.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Cramond Falls Cafe

10 School Brae, EH4 6JN, Edinburgh

4 from Maggie Stevens (6%) on February 14th, 2016 (1 year ago)

What lovely scones straight out of the oven excellent decent sized coffee and friendly service. A warm welcome on a cold day!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Mr So Chinese Takeaway

42 Portobello Rd, EH8 7EL, Edinburgh

5 from davidewins (6%) on February 5th, 2016 (1 year ago)

I love ❤ my curry's from Mr So. No problems with service fast delivery excellent. Well done Mr So.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Olympus Kebab House

16 Elm Row, EH7 4AA, Edinburgh

1 from Sam (6%) on December 21st, 2015 (1 year ago)

Out of date.

Horrible experience in this place, and received horrible customer service.

Purchased an out of date juice which I drank, then was forced to spit it out at the taste was horrible. The juice cap use by day was months old. Took it back in only for the man serving to look confused as I explain that things like this should not be sold. He looked at the bottle and had no clue was a use by date was. I then asked politely if I could have another drink without having to pay. Something I thought I might deserve, and this enraged the man only for him to nearly begin getting very aggressive. Contacting trading standards on this. Zero due dilligance, if they can't keep a bottle of juice in date, doesn't give me much hope for the food.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Le Mouton Noir

3 Viewforth, EH10 4JD, Edinburgh

1 from James Young (6%) on October 13th, 2015 (1 year ago)

REALLY bad service, rude and just not good. Will NOT be returning. Avoid this place if you want to be treated like dirt by some stuck up waitresses!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Rudi's Deli

30 Forrest Road, EH1 2QN, Edinburgh

3 from Stephanie (6%) on October 2nd, 2015 (1 year ago)

Rudis is a nice little place and what's on offer is of very good quality, however I'm always surprised at how little filling there is in their sandwiches.

If you like very little bang for your buck you should eat there.

If you like a sandwich to be filled properly I'd suggest going further down Lauriston place to the sandwich shop next to the barbers as they are similarly priced but give much more in their sandwiches.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Cockatoo

22 Millerhill, EH22 1RZ, Edinburgh

2 from eleanor o'donnell (6%) on September 27th, 2015 (1 year ago)

Waited ages for a drink as waitress could not manage to fit us in

her busy schedule. Dinner took one hour to come and kids were really hungry by then. Waitress staff do not care to be bothered so I will not be bothered to go back again ant time soon.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Nawroz

30 Potterrow, EH8 9BT, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3 from ciamara (42%) on September 13th, 2015 (1 year ago)

We have visited Nawroz twice recently, both times with a voucher for the Kurdish Feast. The “Feast” itself is priced at £60 on the menu. Both times we had a voucher which cost £29.00. Nawroz is however BYOB, which helps to keep the cost of a meal down.

The “Feast” includes a mixed starters, mixed grill and an eastern sweet selection. Starters include falafel, fried Nan bread, hummus, various stuffed vine leaves etc. It is all quite pleasant, but fairly bland.

Mains are chicken wings, chicken and lamb tikka, and chicken and lamb kebabs, served on rice and salad with Nan bread. You also get two side dishes, one potato, one okra, but both tasted fairly bland to us. It is all nicely cooked, and seems good quality, but we would recommend getting chili sauce to spice up the meat.

Dessert was our favourite of all the courses, wee bits of Turkish Delight, baklava and ice cream. The sweetness of the baklava and Turkish Delight complements the ice cream nicely.

The restaurant itself is quite pleasant, and the service is fine, although it tends be focused on the man rather than the women. The toilets were alright, but a long hike down stairs to get there. Overall it was okay, but we wouldn’t pay £60 for the “Feast” and, for us, don’t think it was worth the £30 we paid for the voucher.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Bombay Spice

138-140 Duke Street, EH6 8HR, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on September 13th, 2015 (1 year ago)

We have visited Bombay Spice twice in the last couple of months. A local takeaway, they have a small seating area which has been painted since our first visit making it much fresher and cleaner. Not the Ritz but perfectly adequate.

On both occasions we started with poppadums and pickles. Quite tasty but a wee bit tight with the pickles, barely enough for the four of us, although I suppose we could have asked for more.

On the first occasion each couple shared a starter, but the second time we managed one each. The chicken puree and mixed tikka starter are both worth a try. The tikka is succulent and the chicken in the puree is nicely flavoured although quite mild.

The main courses we tried included the Chicken Dhansak, Chicken Tikka Jalfrezie, Chicken Tikka Chili and Lamb Bhoona, Chicken Tikka Maseledar, Chicken Sabzi Gosh and Chicken Tikka Shimla.

The flavours are all fine and the chicken tasty. You can cut it with your fork which is always a good sign. We had one lamb dish, and that was a wee bit chewy. Although we asked for one of the dishes to be spiced up it wasn’t made nearly flavour enough.

The Garlic Nan is a wee bit thicker than we are used to but it is tasty although not very garlicky. Chips were fine, better the second time and we also got more of them on that visit.

It is bring your own bottle, with no cork-age charge, which makes your visit much more reasonable.

Service was a bit slow, but as we were enjoying a blether and got the poppadums quickly it wasn’t a problem.

Overall worth a try, and certainly if you are within walking distance.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Jaflong Tandoori

38 Longstone Road, EH14 2BH, Edinburgh

1 from Delta (6%) on September 6th, 2015 (1 year ago)

Food was horrid had food poisoning after eating there. Glad I didn't pay for the crap they dished out. Worst Indian ever eaten. Sorry need to up there game.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...352 353 next