Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

1.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 80 1.5 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next

Food For You

189 Morningside Road, EH10 4QP, Edinburgh

1.5 from Andrew (6%) on March 4th, 2015 (2 years ago)

Food is always okay but every time i have ordered here they forget to bring an item i have ordered. For example i ordered a £40 order the other night and they forgot food worth up to £10 and when i called to say they had forgotten this they got a driver to come back up 1 hour later only to bring the wrong item. The last time i will be ordering from here.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Ping On Chinese Restaurant

26 Deanhaugh St, EH4 1LY, Edinburgh

1.5 from Keith (6%) on January 17th, 2015 (2 years ago)

Not our first visit to this restaurant. It will however be our last we have never put so much food in the bin. We are firm believers in giving a restaurant a fair chance to impress this restaurant has now failed to achieve that on more than several occasions. The food was fresh it was however consistently tasteless.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Food For You

189 Morningside Road, EH10 4QP, Edinburgh

1.5 from AG (12%) on September 19th, 2014 (2 years ago)

First time I've ordered from here since Heaven's Kitchen merged with this business. Very disappointing and overpriced.

Food was overcooked and the chicken rubbery.

Also it took 3 attempts to phone through the order after being put on hold for an extended period of time and then cut off!

Will definitely not be eating here again or recommending.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Mr So Chinese Takeaway

42 Portobello Rd, EH8 7EL, Edinburgh

1.5 from Sarah (12%) on April 22nd, 2013 (4 years ago)

I found it NO LONGER the best Chinese takeaway in Edinburgh since the management changed. I tried a few times lately but very disappointed and it never tasted as good as before.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

S.W.S Chinese Takeaway

8 Stenhouse Cross, EH11 3JU, Edinburgh

1.5 from barbara mcdonald (12%) on February 21st, 2013 (4 years ago)

I asked if they do mini spring rolls - yes, they said. We got 3 half full size spring rolls overcooked and disgusting. Ordered chips, every one half looked like a chip and other half the rubbish you get at the bottom of a fryer. Chicken wings were the same! Spent £15 plus and not even a free prawn cracker... poor!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Delicious Italian

27a Marchmont Road, EH9 1HY, Edinburgh

1.5 from Nuala (12%) on September 20th, 2012 (4 years ago)

Bad bad bad. Tasteless and bland. I had a pizza at 2 am. Very disappointed.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Hunters Tryst

97 Oxgangs Road, EH13 9NG, Edinburgh

1.5 from Ed (12%) on September 18th, 2012 (4 years ago)

This was a disapointment. The two fish suppers were cold as were the plates. The ham shank was tasteless and again the plate was cold and the ham tepid.

There seemed to be only one waitress and she wasn't in the mood to hurry.

The prices are cheap but the food not good value.

Not a good experience.

Don't try to fill in their survey online - they try to get you to purchase goods.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Jiuding

30 Albert Street, EH7 5LG, Edinburgh

1.5 from Graham (12%) on July 25th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Image by Graham

I'm waiting at the moment, and, as usual - Jiuding have messed up. When they first opened they used to deliver in under 10 minutes, (I'm a couple of hundred metres from the shop). Now, their prices have shot up, their special offers have gone and they can't organise a simple order. 45 minutes at 1900 Wednesday, in great weather is no good. I'm going to have to cancel this order.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Blue Goose

27 Lanark Road, EH14 1TG, Edinburgh

1.5 from Hanna Jane (12%) on April 23rd, 2012 (5 years ago)

Well, on first impressions the newly done Blue Goose looked and sounded appealing. However, our experience was not good and I doubt I will be returning again.

On arrival the pub was cold and draughty!

Then we were given our menus. At first the food seemed nice however, as a veggie there was nothing! I then asked the waiter (young and inexperienced) what options they do. He went to ask the chef, came back and said they could do a veggie pasta? Well not only was it lunch time and I fancied a soup or sandwich, the offer was nothing in comparison to those for the meat eaters!

I settled for goats cheese salad without the bacon.

The owner was then wandering about so I decided I would mention his limited veggie menu. I was then so shocked. He was extremely rude and obnoxious, telling me veggies are a pain, they never have any and there are 1 veggie to 9 million meat eaters!!!

I understand that veggies are not as common as meat eaters but to provide such a limited menu for them in comparison was appalling, not to mention his rudeness. I believe that if the chef was really was as good as his meat eater menu suggested, his skills would allow him to rustle up something more appetising!

Overall over-priced and pretending to be something they are not!!!

(0) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Bombay Bicycle Club

6-6a Brougham Place, EH3 9HW, Edinburgh

1.5 from jeremy (12%) on October 21st, 2011 (5 years ago)

Worst place I've ever been to. Rude staff, bad menu, bad food. To top it all off the waiter even had a sly remark about what my sister was wearing. Never going to go to this place again, mark my words.

(0) (0) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next