Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs


1.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 80 1.5 star reviews on

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next


295a St John's Road, EH12 7XF, Edinburgh

1.5 from Joan (12%) on September 12th, 2011 (6 years ago)

Food was dry, chicken very dry and stringy. Service was not the best - Abida seems to have gone down hill of late. We were regular customers but after Saturday night we won't be back. After we complained about our food we were then ignored. £60 for a meal should be to a better standard than what it was. I don't recommend it.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Raj Restaurant on the Shore

87–91a Henderson Street Leith, EH6 6ED, Edinburgh

1.5 from Hannah2011 (6%) on September 11th, 2011 (6 years ago)

Not so great, their was a bad smell, oily food and the atmosphere was awful because of a rough crowd.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

India Today

168 Morningside Road, EH10 4PU, Edinburgh

1.5 from Stephen Baird (12%) on September 2nd, 2011 (6 years ago)

Just got back from a lunch with a friend, How hard is it to put together a fish and chips x2. 40 minute wait. And then the food was cold...

Staff were nice, but the chefs and management need to roll up their sleeves. I will never be back.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Cramond Inn

30 Cramond Glebe Road, EH4 6NU, Edinburgh

1.5 from Mike (12%) on August 20th, 2011 (6 years ago)

I hate to spoil the 2007/08 reviews because I remember The Cramond Inn at that time and it was as they reviewed. Sorry I can't say the same now. I went in 2009 and noticed a decline and in 2010 and it had declined even more. Great place for a pint. Lovely location... but the food that I was given was microwaved and tasteless rubbish.I won't be eating there again but I might just drop in for a pint!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Pizzeria Avanti

57 Elm Row, EH7 4AQ, Edinburgh

1.5 from Kamil (12%) on July 14th, 2011 (6 years ago)

On a Wednesday we tried to order take away for 5. First problem was that they were not doing delivery because they did not have enough staff at the time. So we decided to go there and collect our order.

When we got there a member of staff told us 'we forgot to make one of your ordered meals' and we needed to wait another 10 minutes. We did not agree with that because the other 4 meals will be cold after that. Then he suggested we have a different meal that had already been made by mistake.

When we went home we noticed that the potato was not mashed well and had lumps, they gave use the wrong salad (they give us a tomatoe and onion salad which wasn't was our order) and our pizza did not have a garlic sauce.

I'm casual customer of this pizzeria and I'm in shock because that never happened before. After the meal we phoned the restaurant and we told them about that and ask about any discount for the future. They refused give us a discount...

So they lost 5 customers and I never recommend that place anymore.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Jimmy's Good Food

179 Bruntsfield Place, EH10 4DG, Edinburgh

1.5 from jim park (12%) on July 5th, 2011 (6 years ago)

I had barbecued spare ribs in Peking sauce, but the sauce was so watery, it was an irrelevant addition to the dish.

The chicken fried rice was poor - basically just a wedge of fried rice (with no veg), with a layer of reconstituted chicken strips on top.

Behind the counter someone was playing video games and shouting "F**k f**k f**k" at the top of their voice.

I was not impressed and will not be back.

(+2) (+1) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Gali's Italian Ristorante

29 West Maitland Street, EH12 5DX, Edinburgh

1.5 from Byron (12%) on June 12th, 2011 (6 years ago)

5 of us went here yesterday and all started off very well. We had some garlic bread to start which was very nice along with a tasty bottle of house red. However, although relatively tasty, the mains were very much lacking in quantity (wouldn't really have fed a child!). It then took 30 minutes to clear the plates after finishing and a further 30 minutes to bring a dessert menu (there were 3 waiters and only 9 occupied tables so we were at a loss what the delay was).

It then took a further 30 minutes to take our dessert order - at which point we declined and went to Mcdonalds for a Mcflurry. In summary the food was ok but they really need to sort out their quantities and speed of service.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Peacock Inn

100 Lindsay Road, EH6 4TZ, Edinburgh

1.5 from jBruce (6%) on June 6th, 2011 (6 years ago)

We used to go to the Peacock before the fire and loved it.

We returned on Sunday for lunch and will never go back.

The place has lost all atmosphere, the menu has changed completely, no fish pie, no steak pie, the seats are too low for the tables and the service is poor.

Extremely disappointing.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

K2 Kebab House

44 South Clerk Street, EH8 9PS, Edinburgh

1.5 from Nadia (12%) on April 19th, 2011 (6 years ago)

We ordered a takeaway from here and were very disappointed with the quality. The three curries all tasted very sour despite supposedly being completely different styles. The pilau rice was dense and stale. We were not offered a student discount and the price was higher than the many other Indian takeaways in the vicinity.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Food Village Chinese Takeaway

74 Raeburn Place, EH4 1HJ, Edinburgh

1.5 from Jack Hall (12%) on March 24th, 2011 (6 years ago)

The food is alright, and tasty enough however it just isn't that authentic.

After living for many years in China, it just isn't up to what you get over there.

It seems like more of a British take on Chinese food rather than the authentic food you can find in some restaurants.

Though to be fair there aren't many authentic restaurants in Edinburgh, so its not the worst in town, but it certainly isn't the best.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next