Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs


1.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 80 1.5 star reviews on

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next

The Dogs

110 Hanover Street, EH2 1DR, Edinburgh

1.5 from Rawlie (44%) on January 15th, 2010 (8 years ago)

I wrote a review yesterday and in my anger I wasn't really fair - it was more of a rant than a review so I am going to do it again now that I have cooled off.

I am upping my score from 0.5 to 1.5.

Right - my welcome on arrival was dismal, rude and made me want to leave before I had even sat down. The owner barged past us without even a hello, welcome etc and the next person I saw (one of the waiters) was just very rude and unhelpful. Not a good start.

By this point I was already not enjoying my experience but still, I sat down, ordered and ate.

The waiter we had for our table was good (nice chap with lovely colourful tattoos on his arm) and quick and friendly.

One of the party asked to change his mushy peas for something else and this was just too much hassle for them and they talked him (in a sort of mock-rude way) into having the mushy peas.

I ordered the smoked haddock pate. It was nice, well textured, good flavour but I could have done with an extra piece of toast to go with it (only got 2 small pieces). have to say the fish and chips looked excellent and seemed to go down well with the rest of the party.

Overall the service at the table was quick and friendly and the food was good and very affordable (we were there for lunch).

Service and first impressions are so important and there is no excuse for making your customers feel like dogs before they even sit down.


(+2) (-2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Mamma Roma Ristorante

4-5 Antigua Street, EH1 3NH, Edinburgh

1.5 from JohnJohn47 (6%) on December 31st, 2009 (8 years ago)

Opposite the Playhouse/Omni "entertainment" complex, this venue is firmly aimed at folk visiting Edinburgh to attend events there. The accent is on maximizing profit by moving bums through seats fast. The front of house was clean if rather crowded, the wait staff were welcoming and efficient, but the food tasted like something from Asda's budget cook-at-home range.

For the most part our meals were bland and it was obvious that cheap ingredients had been used throughout. Starter portions were very small; mains were ok but hardly generous. Garlic bread was served stone cold. The house wine was the very cheapest quality of vin de table. The only dish which tasted of anything was a pepperoni pizza and that was absurdly hot - no taste of anything but pepper. Three of the four in our party were unable to finish their dishes. I stilll have indigestion. We paid and went in search of dessert and coffee elsewhere.

For the part-meal we were served, the price was a ripoff - over £15 per head. We won't be going back.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Delicious Italian

27a Marchmont Road, EH9 1HY, Edinburgh

1.5 from jaba (12%) on December 7th, 2009 (8 years ago)

This pizza is rancid! I ordered a few times, it was wet and cold and falling apart, terrible terrible pizza, PLEASE don't eat here!

(-3) (-3) (-1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Agoo Cafe

52 Rodney Street, EH7 4DX, Edinburgh

1.5 from missperfect (6%) on November 7th, 2009 (8 years ago)

The food was not piping hot when received and I found 2 hairs in my korma which I was not impressed with.

It is common practice to make sure simple errors like this do not occur when operating a business where food is prepared and served to customers.

I will not be recommending this place to anyone nor returning.

(+1) (0) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Ristorante Sambuca

103-105 Causewayside, EH9 1QG, Edinburgh

EmmaR's image

1.5 from EmmaR (69%) on November 6th, 2009 (8 years ago)

I want to like this place. I really do. It's a basic italian that showed promise as I walked in the door. However, I've left the restaurant disappointed.

The decor is ok. It's trying to be modern but not quite getting it right. The staff are pleasant enough. I have no quibbles there. It's just the food. Even I can cook better italian food than this (and that's saying something!).

I had garlic bread with tomatoes for my starter (bruschetta really). The tomatoes were fresh but the bread was soggy and barely resembled bread by the time I was about half way though. It was covered in garlic, which for me was a good thing but I could imagine some people finding it a bit too much. My partner had minestrone and we ordered some extra bread. The bread was actually quite nice (little was I to know that filling up on that was a good idea). Across the table, extra seasoning was applied liberally to the soup to try to obtain some flavour.

For my main course I ordered lasagne al forno. Not very adventurous, I know. However, there was hardly any meat in it. There was what looked like sliced mozarella in there but it hadn't melted and actually tasted like boiled egg. It might have been boiled egg. There were also slices of something that I couldn't identify but could well have been some kind of sausage meat. The pasta was also mush. On the other side of the table a pizza was being enjoyed but more due to the fact it was meeting a pizza craving rather than delivering a delicious taste.

The only good side was that it was cheap. So at least we weren't being ripped off by this. I have read since that fish is the restaurant's speciality. Maybe they should focus on that rather than the italian side of the business.

(+3) (0) (+2)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

India Today

168 Morningside Road, EH10 4PU, Edinburgh

1.5 from rockle5 (8%) on October 25th, 2009 (8 years ago)

Our table seemed to have two waitresses as though they didn't know who was serving which tables, and the food was... well, I could have produced much better myself. We ate it because we were hungry and confusingly the guy taking our money as we paid up agreed with us that the food we'd had was a 'version' of a croque monsieur' and didn't know how to respond to us not enjoying our food. No one came back after serving the food to check that it was alright, and we saw a table of 6 all staring at their plates - not starting to eat! We refused to take the flyers for 2 for 1 meals to come back, as even though the bartender tried to convince us that 'it's a really good deal' I can't think of a reason to eat there again. A drink maybe but that's all!

(+6) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Hill Station

99 Comiston Road, EH10 6AG, Edinburgh

1.5 from Bills (12%) on October 8th, 2009 (8 years ago)

I used to really like the Hill Station but the last twice the food has not been hot, (luke warm - cold naan = yuck). I only live 5 mins away and use an insulated bag to carry it. It used to be that most of the content was meat and/or veg, last two times the sauce content has increased to a lot more than 50%. Prices seemed to have risen too, £30 for three curries, two nans, one boiled rice, two poppadoms and a chipatti. Very disappointed.

(+2) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Ciao Roma

64 South Bridge, EH1 1LS, Edinburgh

1.5 from LadyEm (12%) on August 25th, 2009 (8 years ago)

I have been to this restaurant in the past and had a fine experience so was disappointed when I returned with my mum last night. The garlic bread starter was an embarrassment - 3 scrawny slices of bread thrown onto a huge plate! My mum had spaghetti bolognese which was like a game of find the pasta - odd considering how cheap pasta is! I had calzone which was fine but I've had better out of takeaway sandwich places! Crepes for dessert - clearly out of a packet and the ice cream wasn't that tasty either!

Service was pretty poor, had to ask to see a dessert menu. Felt like there was about 4 different waiters all just throwing stuff on the table then whipping it away!

Very disappointing, won't go back.

(+3) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review


16 Drummond Street, EH8 9TX, Edinburgh

1.5 from Facherty (8%) on August 22nd, 2009 (8 years ago)

Average French food - expensive and small portions - but disappointing service. We raised a query about our bill and were abused by the waitress, who equated a the price of the main course with a sweet. After they adjusted the bill, they wouldn't let us pay it until we said that we were stealing their food! (Ironically enough, the restaurant was hosting the Fawlty Towers experience - perhaps they learnt too much from Basil). I won't go again. They won't learn.

(+4) (0) (+2)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review


87 Easter Road, EH7 5PW, Edinburgh

1.5 from Alex (12%) on August 21st, 2009 (8 years ago)

Food was too salty and the delivery time too long - avoid at all cost, plenty of good Indians close by.

(-4) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next