Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

1.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 80 1.5 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next

Nawroz

30 Potterrow, EH8 9BT, Edinburgh

1.5 from northallan (8%) on March 2nd, 2008 (9 years ago)

Having eaten teppanyaki for many years and in many countries, I was persuaded by friends to try the (apparently only) Edinburgh version. This is not the teppanyaki I know. The chef we had is a pastiche of the real version, possibly because he seems to be serving diners composed of girl groups and inexperienced japanese restaurant diners. The area was dirty when we were sat down, and the cooking surfaces looked as though they hadn't been properly cleaned for some time. The chef arrived eventually and marked his arrival by performing a very dangerous stunt, namely launching a large dose of alcohol and fat onto the hot surfaces as we watched. Frightening. He boldly asked if any of us had eaten teppanyaki before, and seemed surprised when I said I had many years experience experiencing and indeed reviewing this cuisine. He became agitated and verged on being abusive, until I suggested he treat us as Customers and proceed with the cooking. He ultimately became very apologetic, and offered my partner free drinks.

The food is more in the nature of rough barbecue cooking than teppanyaki, and included a glutinous mess of chicken in peanut sauce, sauteed in a makeshift aluminium foil pan. Vegetables were not apparent until the very end when he seemed to notice that he hadn't cooked the bamboo shoots. The starter was plated and served having been cooked elsewhere. Like another reviewer, I was dismayed by the frequent offer of lollipops and mini-chocolate bars in place of food.

But for my guest and the wish to review the restaurant I would have left after the chef's fire and vocal attack.

I can't recommend this to anyone except stag parties.

(+6) (0) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Sushiya

19 Dalry Road, EH11 2BQ, Edinburgh

1.5 from petko (12%) on February 18th, 2008 (9 years ago)

Well guys, I guess I went there after so many recommendations, and from people people who have been in Japan too, and that's why I was really unimpressed.

Now, I've never been a snob or anything about food but I lived in Japan for 5 years myself and I guarantee that this was the worst Japanese food I've ever tried, including entries such as Royal Host, etc. Hum, should have noticed that the chefs are Chinese before I seated.

Seriously, nothing personal but if this is the best place in Edinburgh, then no place is worth visiting at all. I tried sushi, sashimi, tempura, katsudon and ramen. I confess that the shape and colours were just fine. However, the taste was a real distant echo of what makes Japanese food so popular. The ramen was a disaster, although it is a Chinese invention.

As for the price, for appr. 10 pounds pp, even in Tokyo one can get 4 times more food than what Sushiya offers. And from the products used only the beer was imported.

Anyway, this was my personal opinion, others might advise otherwise.

(0) (-3) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

indigo (yard)

7 Charlotte Lane, EH2 4QZ, Edinburgh

1.5 from Bryan (42%) on February 12th, 2008 (9 years ago)

Decent pub food but only 1.5 stars for having 'yard' in parentheses. Completely pointless.

(-1) (0) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Itihaas

17-19 Eskbank Road, EH22 1HD, Edinburgh

1.5 from diner (6%) on February 9th, 2008 (9 years ago)

Nice looking premises, light and staff attentive and smart.

Ordered a takeaway on busy Saturday night. Firstly a mix up with orders lucky I noticed as I was walking out the door.

Got home and took lids off all we found was two watery very very oily meals. The rice was fine as was the naan bread.

Both curries were bland and after pouring out a cupful of oil both meals ended up in the bin. I could not get through on phone as it was busy so I have yet to let them know my findings. I will not be returning ...

(+3) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Doric Tavern

15-16 Market Street, EH1 1DE, Edinburgh

profeta77's image

1.5 from profeta77 (49%) on February 4th, 2008 (9 years ago)

We went to the Doric Tavern on Saturday night with Edinburgh Dine Around offer at £15 per person for a 2 course meal. That was a well disappointing experience.

First of all when we arrived the waitress, who never smiled were not welcoming at all at arrival and lost our booking. Luckily enough a table for 2 was available.

Then when the starter arrives, no bread is served with the salad although there is a bread plate for each of us and I have to ask twice to get the bread served.

Started Pan fried chicken liver and bacon salad was really good. But the main, Plaice on salad with capers and dressing was really dull and the capers were missing.

We ordered a pudding and a coffee but coffee took longer because there was no more coffee. Fair enough.

AND FINALLY, THIS IS LAST TOUCH: they charged us £1 for a jug of tap water and £2 for the 4 small slices of bread!

I honestly think that any restaurant that charges you for bread and tap water should be boycotted.

This was scandalous.

(+4) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Stupa

294 Leith Walk, EH6 5BX, Edinburgh

1.5 from sneeu (9%) on January 28th, 2008 (9 years ago)

Image by sneeu

My girlfriend and I ordered from Chimei after finding the good review above. She had Chicken in a Yellow Bean sauce and boiled rice. I had Beef fried rice, my usual.

Delivery was quick and the food was reasonable ... until about 3.30am when I felt sick: food poisoning.

I took the next day off work to recover, spending the whole day in bed until my girlfriend returned from work with man-illness supplies.

(+2) (+2) (+3)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Three Coins

19 Home Street, EH3 9JR, Edinburgh

profeta77's image

1.5 from profeta77 (49%) on December 20th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Chips were undercooked. Burger meat really poor. Sauces were watering.

Worst I had in along time.

The atmosphere and decoration is really bad too.

You often have to wait in the cold.

(0) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

McDonald's

3-5 South St Andrew Street, EH2 2AU, Edinburgh

rachybaby's image

1.5 from rachybaby (68%) on September 24th, 2007 (10 years ago)

The fries are good but don't go for chicken nuggets (I watched a tv programme recently and apparently most of the 'nugget' consists of meat from the chicken's head). Mmm, tasty.

(0) (0) (+2)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Wannaburger

7/8 Queensferry Street, EH2 4PA, Edinburgh

1.5 from Alicat (22%) on July 20th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Poor show, aside from being charged £7.00 for a burger that I could have made at home I have to pay for chips on the side (I'm sure there's a rule somewhere that states burger always served with chips...) and then the staff start clearing up and sweeping around me while I'm still eating my lunch. Not impresssed.

(+5) (+3) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

McDonald's

55 Kinnaird Park, EH15 3RD, Edinburgh

andy's image

1.5 from andy (83%) on June 20th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Image by andy

It's a McDonald's. The food is tasty, but rubbish.

(0) (+3) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 next