Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

2.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 166 2.5 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...16 17 next

The Hunters Tryst

97 Oxgangs Road, EH13 9NG, Edinburgh

2.5 from Catherine Buchan (6%) on April 8th, 2015 (2 years ago)

Party celebration... very dry chicken and not all items as good as expected but main complaint in the service. Apart from the small dark lady, it left a lot to be desired, particularly the bartender who was unhelpful rude even and in need of much training. The setting and history of the venue is great but your reputation is lacking.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Food For You

189 Morningside Road, EH10 4QP, Edinburgh

2.5 from Russell (12%) on September 26th, 2012 (5 years ago)

The food was delivered very quickly which was a plus, but I would suggest not asking for soy sauce because they bring you an entire bottle. I ordered one spring roll, and they brought me six. Thanks! The shrimp toast has no shrimp in it, it is just toast with sesame seeds on it. The lemon chicken was decent, and the employees are very polite and helpful. I would suggest ordering elsewhere though, because the food is just OK.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Plumed Horse

50-54 Henderson Street, EH6 6DE, Edinburgh

2.5 from tomfoood (6%) on September 25th, 2012 (5 years ago)

1. Management: the arrogance was funny - flogging CDs - is that a joke? Head up in the clouds.

2. Food was okay for sure but not in the same game as Wisharts. Wisharts = 5 stars.

3. The place was empty - 6 people for lunch - that sums the Plumed Horse up.

4. The Management - they need a top Manager not a CD flogging man. Who do they think they are? Really - it's the end of 2012 not 1987...

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Mermaid Takeaway

43-45 Leith Walk, EH6 8LS, Edinburgh

2.5 from Naomi (12%) on August 24th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Terrible service. Never buying food from there again.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Joseph Pearce's Bar

23 Elm Row, EH7 4AA, Edinburgh

2.5 from Will (30%) on June 26th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Nice decor, a fairly cosy venue where a couple can relax on the nicer chairs upstairs or a larger group can gather round one of the big tables. Some nice artwork on the walls.

Didn't try the food, drink wise it was a few of the usual tap beers such as Guinness and Stella etc, some decent pear ciders in bottles, a lot more choice in other places to be honest.

The place was busy, but all the staff who took our orders were really nice and friendly. Couldn't fault them.

I'd go back if someone invited me for a drink there, but I don't think I'd suggest it as an option when arranging to meet friends. It's nice enough to look at, but so is my living room and I can get a better choice of drinks from the local deli for half the price.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Rice King

11 St Stephen Street, EH3 5AN, Edinburgh

2.5 from Will (30%) on June 5th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Went in to order takeaway, no smiles or "thank you" from the staff (although I did notice they were much more polite when taking phone orders) and when I asked to pay by card I was told it would take 15 mins as they would need to confirm the card was OK... really? I just paid cash to make life easier. For service, I wouldn't rate it at all.

Ordered three main dishes. Lemon chicken was good, shredded spicy chicken with salt and pepper was good too, Kung Po chicken was very salty. No prawn crackers either :-(

Overall not too impressed, service was lacking but food was OK, not good enough to make me rush back but I wouldn't rule out going again as two of the three dishes were good enough.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Shapla

87 Easter Road, EH7 5PW, Edinburgh

2.5 from Anna (12%) on April 17th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Unfortunately our food was cold when it arrived (20 minutes after the website said it would). The 2 curries we ordered tasted exactly the same despite claiming to be 2 different dishes. We ordered from here as it used to be good but I was less than impressed.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Prezzo

25 Pier Place, EH6 4LP, Edinburgh

2.5 from jon (12%) on February 19th, 2012 (5 years ago)

A long wait for drinks to be ordered and delivered to our table and an even longer wait for the food order and the food to arrive, which when it did was tasty. Woefully understaffed - the waiteresses were run off their feet trying to cope. Not thier fault but Prezzo management must review this inadequacy. Restaurant ambiance pleasant and subtle decor but whenever the door opened a gale swept through the restaurant. Surely a design fault here. Not in favour of unisex toilets either.

Probably will not return.

(0) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

India Today

168 Morningside Road, EH10 4PU, Edinburgh

2.5 from Derek Dunn (12%) on January 30th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Food was very good. My only complaint is it took a very long time to be Served . I thought they had gone out with a fishing rod to catch a fish.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

India Today

168 Morningside Road, EH10 4PU, Edinburgh

2.5 from Matt Smith (12%) on December 13th, 2011 (5 years ago)

The bar area has been done up and looks lovely so why can't they sort out the poor relation of a function suite upstairs! it looks shabby to say the least and in need of some TLC to its decor, carpets and soft furnishings. Have been to quite a few good functions up there over the years but it just never seems to get a makeover.

It's high time it had one so come on owners pull your finger out and do something!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...16 17 next