Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

2 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 171 2 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 ...14 15 16 17 18 next

A Room in Leith

1c Dock Place, EH6 6LU, Edinburgh

2 from Brian (12%) on May 14th, 2008 (10 years ago)

Cold plates, bland food, a shocking fish course, and a mural that made me think I was in some community centre. A real shame, as the Waterfront used to be so nice too.

Like the BYOW option, but still does not make it a cheap meal. Perhaps they use this to charge you more?

Lots of competition in Leith and other parts of Edinburgh. Best raise your game.

Unlike Arnie, I won't be back.

(+3) (+3) (+4)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Vittoria

19 George IV Bridge, EH1 1EE, Edinburgh

2 from Marius (40%) on May 10th, 2008 (10 years ago)

Beware their lunch menu... very bad deal. The portions are tiny. We thought it was a joke when the micro sized pizzas arrived. In the end we had to go for a dessert at the Elephant House next door as we were still hungry... With so many great lunch deals to choose from in the area (including the excellent Cafe Sardi's) we certainly won't be back...

(+4) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Centotre

103 George Street, EH2 3ES, Edinburgh

2 from Cills (12%) on May 6th, 2008 (10 years ago)

I totally agree with mike and lynn.

my party of 14 arrived at this resturant and on first impressions were taken by the interior of the building which looked great. Unfortunately the rest of the night was more like a nightmare.

Food as just awful and I would go so far as to say disgraceful. The food was not cheap but we would have happily paid the higher rates given the location had the food been edible.

Lasagne was completely burned to a crisp - charcoal on top and it was the manager of the resturant who actually served it to one of my party!!! When a substitute was provided it was bland and presented with tin foil round the edge of it... more like a bad ready made meal for one!

This Italian couldnt even get the pizza right. Base was extremely dry and actually split in half it was so over cooked. There was no sauce on the goats cheese pizza only crumbled cheese and lots of rocket - just terrible. When only 3 out of our 14 could stomach eating their dinner I complained to the waiter and asked to speak to the manager. The very nice waiter had to ask the manager 3 times to please come and deal with us, as she kept ignoring us and walking past the table.

After a 15 minute wait she came over and I explained our disappointment. She shrugged, made no excuse and went to see the owner. When she returned she explained that was the way food was served here (I did question the fact that she served the lasagne completely burned - was this normal?) but she agreed to discount our meal in the end. I left the resturant completely starving and very disappointed.

(+1) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Steading

118-120 Biggar Road, EH10 7DU, Edinburgh

2 from Carolyn (10%) on May 2nd, 2008 (10 years ago)

Sorry but I have to rate this low, not for the food but because we didn't get any. Menu is very very limited, I asked for a chilli baked potato, ok so it wasn't on the menu but it had chilli pannini and it had baked potatoes, but the computer said no, so I opted for baked potato with prawns with no marie rose sauce, oops, computer says no. So 2 down and I wasn't going to hang around for the computer to upset me for a third time. Staff weren't too bothered, so Carolyn says no to The Steading!!!

(0) (0) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Le Mouton Noir

3 Viewforth, EH10 4JD, Edinburgh

2 from R Thomas (12%) on April 12th, 2008 (10 years ago)

This place is the black sheep, and for a reason. As a local I've walked past here on several occassions and I booked here with high expectations but left very disappointed.

Starters good, good selection of wine - if not overly pricey. The major disappointment came when the mains arrived. My partner had the moules marinere, which were good but not the standard we expected. My dish was appalling. I ordered the duck and ostrich. My advice to those who visit, don't! This was a bland, badly seasoned dish. The meat was lovely, but the sauce had no flavour.

I can cope with bad food, what I can't cope with is an argument with the waiting staff. At no point during the mains did the staff enquire on the standard of the food. When clearing the table I informed him about my meal. I received no apology and was essentially told "tough luck". This is not the customer service I would expect here. You win some, you lose some. But the black sheep has lost my potential regular custom.

I went to the restaurant on the basis of the reviews on this site. My advice would be, if you go don't expect it to be amazing but expect to be ripped off! Expensive and not worth it.

(+1) (-4) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Cafe Rouge

43 Frederick Street, EH2 1EP, Edinburgh

julieadair's image

2 from julieadair (22%) on March 27th, 2008 (10 years ago)

What can I say? It's a chain, playing at being French...

The one thing in its favour is an excellent rosé from Provence. Look out for the Chateau d'Aumerade!

(+3) (+2) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Loch Fyne Restaurant

25 Pier Place, EH6 4LP, Edinburgh

2 from Alex (12%) on March 24th, 2008 (10 years ago)

The food was overcooked and too salty. The staff seem a little inattentive, even when the restaurant was at nowhere near capacity. The portions were inconsistent -- some were alright, but others were too small. Finally, charging separately for the vegetables pushes the price right up.

A disappointment.

(+4) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Ann Purna

44-45 St Patrick Square, EH8 9ET, Edinburgh

2 from SG (12%) on March 22nd, 2008 (10 years ago)

I was extremely disappointed after having seen the good reviews above. As soon as we walked in, we noticed the disorganized and tacky decor. We were also asked for reservations even though there was nobody in the restaurant. After taking our seats, the staff was pushy to the point of rudeness. The food arrived far too quickly to have been made to order, and although decent, was nothing I couldn't have prepared in my own student kitchen. It was definitely overpriced for what it offered, and definitely will not be returning.

(0) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Montpelier's

159-161 Bruntsfield Place, EH10 4DG, Edinburgh

2 from vladimpala (17%) on March 22nd, 2008 (10 years ago)

I used to go here quite a bit - it has a nice ambiance (as long as it's not too busy) and the food was interesting and well prepared. However, in the last couple of years the standard of the food really seems to have dropped, to the extent that I have had to send a couple of dishes back back to the kitchen.

Breakfasts are normally OK - though service can be a bit slow. That said, on my most recent visit for breakfast (Feb 2008) I ordered french toast which came minus the egg - basic mistakes like that should never make it to the customer.

(+1) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Bella Italia

9 Hanover Street, EH2 2DL, Edinburgh

2 from Sarah Young (12%) on March 11th, 2008 (11 years ago)

The restaurant was nice and the food was very good, but I have to say that the service wasn't good at all!

At the end of our meal we asked for the bill, it was given and as we were a group of young adults who had just taken money out of the bank to go out for a meal we only had £20 notes and one of my friends had two £10 notes so all four of us gave £20 to what was just over £60 meal and then realised we had given way too much. But we thought it would be ok and we would just get the extra money back in our change. When our change came back we had no where near the amount we should have, we complained to our waiter and we didn't get dealt with in a good manner - he was very rude. So then the manager came and said she would take our number and at the end of the night check the till and would contact us the next again day, but they never called back. I don't think I will be going there again!

(+1) (0) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 ...14 15 16 17 18 next