Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

2 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 171 2 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 ...14 15 16 17 18 next

The Elephant House

21 George IV Bridge, EH1 1EN, Edinburgh

2 from Rich (29%) on October 22nd, 2007 (11 years ago)

This place is always busy, so decided to give it a go. On the plus side the views of the castle are excellent. However, on the downside the experience wasnt quiet what I had expected. The dinng area is to the rear of the property with a selection of tables and a hotch potch of chairs, you make your order at the counter and then head to the back where by re-positioning customers and moving furniture, if you're lucky you can manufacture a corner of a table in which you and your dining companions can sit and eat. The whole experience conjoured up thoughts of School dining areas.

The food was ok, coffee average, price and service passable. I have come to the conclusion that it must be a student thing.

(+1) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Malone's Irish Bar

14 Forrest Road, EH1 2QN, Edinburgh

2 from jcaughey (75%) on October 19th, 2007 (11 years ago)

Image by jcaughey

Lacking in atmosphere - Oddfellows is 'odd'!

The food was really bad as well, my burger was soaked through with the salad dressing that had been very liberally poured over my salad and chips. Not especially cheap either for pub grub. Wouldn't bother with it to be honest.

(+2) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Basement

10a-12a Broughton Street, EH1 3RH, Edinburgh

2 from Greny (11%) on October 15th, 2007 (11 years ago)

I had the chilli con carne and it was like eating plastic. I'm sure I heard the sound of the microwave just before it came to the table.

(-2) (-3) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Vittoria on the Walk

113 Brunswick Street, EH7 5HR, Edinburgh

2 from cjmul (22%) on September 28th, 2007 (11 years ago)

I went here last month and really did not enjoy it. The menu is great, but the food fails to deliver. My pasta took a long time to arrive and when it was very overcooked and rubbery - looked and tasted like it had been under the hot lamps for quite a while. Not what you would expect from an Italian restaurant. I wouldn't recommend.

(+2) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Bank Hotel

1-3 South Bridge, EH1 1LL, Edinburgh

2 from irishphat (61%) on August 31st, 2007 (11 years ago)

Never had a good meal here. Mediocre pub grub at best. Had a minging steak sandwich once, went back again and was unimpressed. Pals of mine reported the Sunday breakfast was good but then the last time we spoke they said it was rubbish. Second hand to me but still a bad report. Nice pub for drinks and sports but I won't eat there again!

(+1) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Zizzi

1-3 Food Terrace, Ocean Terminal, EH6 6JJ, Edinburgh

2 from jwjlewis (64%) on August 28th, 2007 (11 years ago)

After a show at the Festival I went here with a group of work friends. Was it any good? No.

We walked in at about 8pm and were seated immediately - you might think that's that's good when there's six of you, but when you realise you are in a cavernous space within Ocean Terminal (so cavernous that there are two other restaurants within the same area) then it's not so much of a feat. We sat down, and as a large group is want to do, we started to natter. When the waiter came to take our drinks orders I tried to order, put nobody else was paying attention - at this the waiter appeared to take the hump and so walked off. Five minutes later he reappeared and took our order - wine for three, a coke, "what cider do you have?" "no cider", came the Eastern European accent - perfect in an Italian restaurant, so I opted for coke. The final drink was "beer..?" "Peroni" "Just Peroni? Oh, i'll have a Peroni then". As the waiter was walking away he spotted an empty Stella and so held it aloft and pointed at it "Stella", "oh, yes please".

However, the waiter then improved and became most attentive. We ordered starters to share and then only five of us ordered mains. So when the waiter was inputting our choices into the computer, he came back to check that we only wanted five mains. Is this attentive? Or should he have checked before he left the table? I'm not sure.

Anyway, my pizza was reasonable, but nothing to write home about. I wouldn't bother going out of your way to eat here (even if that just means a step to your left as you walk past).

(+2) (+1) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Jimmy's Good Food

179 Bruntsfield Place, EH10 4DG, Edinburgh

2 from badgrs (16%) on August 25th, 2007 (11 years ago)

Was sorely disappointed with this place - just as expensive as any Chinese and the food was less than desirable. Spring rolls didn't taste of much and tofu was horrible, ended up eating half of the Mrs' dish. Reminded me more of a deep-fry chippy in Glasgow than a good Chinese, there's better ones down in Morningside.

(+4) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Igg's

15 Jeffrey Street, EH1 1DR, Edinburgh

2 from maggot (20%) on August 15th, 2007 (11 years ago)

We went there using an eat out for a £10 voucher out of The Scotsman and the choice was really limited - a choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 desserts and if you don't like fish it gives you a choice of 1 but we should have expected that for a tenner. The choice from the normal menu looked more extensive so this wouldn't put me off.

(-1) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Golf Tavern

30-31 Wright's Houses, EH10 4HR, Edinburgh

2 from jwjlewis (64%) on August 1st, 2007 (11 years ago)

What a shame. They had to go and revamp the lovely old pub and turn it into a trendy bar. I remember chatting to a retired gentleman back home in Shropshire and he had very fond memories of this place when he was a student. I would hate to take him there now.

(0) (-1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Buffalo Grill

12-14 Chapel Street, EH8 9AY, Edinburgh

2 from sarahgrantie (14%) on July 23rd, 2007 (11 years ago)

Was extremely dissapointed with this restaurant after hearing only rave reviews about it. The steak was average, the prawns weren't marinaded and I could have made the sauce for the steak better myself. It was nothing special and I think anyone could make a better quality meal at home. The best part was the brownie dime bar cake for dessert which was I admit amazing!!!

(+2) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 ...14 15 16 17 18 next