Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

2 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 171 2 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...17 18 next

The Hunters Tryst

97 Oxgangs Road, EH13 9NG, Edinburgh

2 from jane (12%) on September 23rd, 2012 (6 years ago)

Really disappointed to find that the fish that was being used on the special menu (buy 1 get 2nd for £1) is river cobbler. Was suspicious of the taste. At least they were honest. However the batter was lovely.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Hung Fung

124 Ferry Road, EH6 4PG, Edinburgh

2 from lee laidlaw (12%) on July 1st, 2012 (6 years ago)

i have ordered from the Hung Fung for years and their food is delish, however sometimes it does go wrong and they never take responsibility for it. That is my only disappointment with it.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Loch Fyne Restaurant

25 Pier Place, EH6 4LP, Edinburgh

2 from Sally Payne (12%) on May 15th, 2012 (6 years ago)

I have recently eaten at Newhaven Loch Fyne and have been disappointed both times. I used to love eating here but the service has become slower and slower, to the point where we started to time how long it took for two of us to receive each course. The bill, needless to say came very quickly!

There is only one Loch Fyne place to eat and that is the original Oyster Bar at Loch Fyne.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Food For You

189 Morningside Road, EH10 4QP, Edinburgh

2 from Ally Bain (12%) on May 13th, 2012 (6 years ago)

I have now ordered 8 meals form them and have been collecting there loyalty cards, the food has been very good and the actual menu has a good selection on it.

However, the last time we ordered we were quoted 45 minutes and it took 1 hour and 30 minutes and we were offered no explanation or apology. We ordered yesterday and again yesterday we were quoted 45 minutes and it took 1 hour and 20 minutes to arrive. Again no apology or explanation then to really add insult to injury I then found 2 hairs in my meal, I found this disgusting! Unfortunately as I was due on stage that evening and I was already late due to amount of time they had taken to deliver the food I did not have time to contact them to complain last night but have awoke this morning I feel quite put out by the whole experience and feel it more than reasonable to pass on this experience on to others who may be thinking of using them.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Outsider

15 George IV Bridge, EH1 1EE, Edinburgh

2 from Mark Gilbert (12%) on April 20th, 2012 (6 years ago)

Two days ago, my wife and I ate here as we have done many times over the last decade or so. On this occasion, we were bitterly disappointed with the very poor service. We were never asked how our food was. Upon being given the dessert menu we were subsequently ignored to the point of no longer wanting any more food and when I asked for the bill completely ignored again until my patience ran out after 20 minutes when I asked if I could actually make the payment. When I told a member of staff my concerns, I got a half-hearted apology and was told they would speak to the manager. Following this still no attempt was made to placate my disappointment.

In sum, we spent as much time waiting around as we did eating and felt ignored. The staff seemed disorganised and uninterested in looking after their clientèle. I will not be rushing back here after such a lamentable experience.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Filling Station

235 High Street, EH1 1PE, Edinburgh

2 from Jayne (12%) on April 3rd, 2012 (6 years ago)

Visited The Filling Station on Saturday 31st March for the first time in about 5 years. There were 6 of us, 3 couples and we were very disappointed!

We were shown to a booth that would comfortably sit 4. So the six of us had to squeeze in, leaving very little arm room for eating. Our waitress informed us that there was no French Fries available but we could have sweet potato chips instead. What no fries in an American Restaurant?! Surely we misheard her but no it was true! We then ordered some vodka and cokes, for them to be served in huge glasses! Not sure there was any alcohol in them or not, you certainly couldn't taste any! We also waited ages after requesting the bill. The food was average but the toilets were lovely.

(+1) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Khushi's

32b Broughton Street, EH1 3SB, Edinburgh

2 from Sarah shanks (12%) on March 7th, 2012 (6 years ago)

I attended Khushis for the first time this evening and was so unimpressed I had to write this review straight away. After being a regular for many years at the Khushis on Nicholson Street i was unhappy to learn that it had closed down and reopened at Broughton Street but I decided to give it a try. After calling to ask if I needed to book a table for that evening I was told that i didn't need to as it was "not busy". I arrived and was then told i could have a table but only for one hour!

Much to my disappointment I was not greeted with the same welcome as I would normally get at the "old Khushis". The food was definitely not the same and after being a regular for so long i can honestly say i won't be back.

New menu, new staff maybe but customer service and quality of food has gone downhill. Change is not always better!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Cramond Falls Cafe

10 School Brae, EH4 6JN, Edinburgh

2 from Anon (12%) on February 5th, 2012 (6 years ago)

I was disappointed in the falls. I felt like I had been an inconvenience even being there. I wasn't greeted in a friendly manner and I can only describe the women working there as haggard. The coffee was average at best - the cappuccino milk was barely visible and the scones were most definitely not homemade. I was generally rather disheartened at the entire establishment. The only redeeming feature was the view which was beautiful bit it's even nicer further along the walkway.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Blue Goose

27 Lanark Road, EH14 1TG, Edinburgh

2 from claireb (6%) on November 23rd, 2011 (6 years ago)

Like the other reviewer, we were very pleased to note that this pub was being refurbished as there are few dining options at this end of town and it's nice to have somewhere near the Water of Leith where you can go for a quick bite to eat after walking. The signs looked good, but the experience in the end was very disappointing.

Much is made of the great food, all home-made (I should hope so!) and the gastropub element. Unfortunately not a bit of thought has gone into making the menu seasonally appropriate and in this day and age people want to know where the produce has come from. Why, for example, is there gazpacho on a menu in Scotland in November??? Why isn't the chef sourcing locally caught fish and doing a warming fish soup instead of a cold Spanish soup? Side veg included mange-tout - clearly imported from the other side of the world and again seasonally inappropriate when there are fantastic winter veg around that are locally grown. So all in all, I'm not convinced the chef cares very much about what he's doing (go a mile up the road to the Caley Sample Room to see what a real gastropub has to offer...). Even that aside, the food is very forgettable and not especially cheap for what you get.

The staff are lovely - young, super friendly and a real asset. Like the previous reviewer, though, the room was very chilly and we were glad to get home afterwards to get warm. What a shame; it promised so much but really is just not that great. Will still call in for a pint after we go walking, though!

(+1) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Blue Goose

27 Lanark Road, EH14 1TG, Edinburgh

2 from mac59 (7%) on November 8th, 2011 (7 years ago)

We were very pleased when this restaurant opened as we live nearby and a good local restaurant is what we are sadly lacking on this side of town.

The menu looked lovely and indeed we could not fault the food. Except perhaps to say a warm dish needs to be served on a warmed plate and my starter was not. This was not helped by the fact the the overall temperature within the dining room was decidedly chilly, indeed my husband who isn't prone to feeling the cold, couldn't wait to get home to warm up.

However we did find the prices rather high. We had two starters, two mains shared a cheese board and had a 500ml carafe of wine and our bill was over £65 pounds. At these prices we would have expected a bit more comfort, better temperature, a tablecloth perhaps, certainly not paper napkins. The tables and chairs are mainly remaining from the previous incarnation with some further additions of more comfortable looking chairs.

The staff were young, very friendly and willing but not always very experienced. A request for two glasses of port seemed to really throw the waitress, who didn't know what this was and had to check with the bar. However she then returned with a choice of two for us.

I notice on their website that they planned to offer fixed price options. I hope they do because we would like to return, as we did enjoy the food, however the pricing was rather high and a few changes would have to happen with the restaurant heating system first, at least during winter.

The toilet facilities were also in need of a bit of an upgrade.

(+3) (+1) (-1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...17 18 next