Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

3.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 404 3.5 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...40 41 next

Bombay Spice

138-140 Duke Street, EH6 8HR, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on September 13th, 2015 (2 years ago)

We have visited Bombay Spice twice in the last couple of months. A local takeaway, they have a small seating area which has been painted since our first visit making it much fresher and cleaner. Not the Ritz but perfectly adequate.

On both occasions we started with poppadums and pickles. Quite tasty but a wee bit tight with the pickles, barely enough for the four of us, although I suppose we could have asked for more.

On the first occasion each couple shared a starter, but the second time we managed one each. The chicken puree and mixed tikka starter are both worth a try. The tikka is succulent and the chicken in the puree is nicely flavoured although quite mild.

The main courses we tried included the Chicken Dhansak, Chicken Tikka Jalfrezie, Chicken Tikka Chili and Lamb Bhoona, Chicken Tikka Maseledar, Chicken Sabzi Gosh and Chicken Tikka Shimla.

The flavours are all fine and the chicken tasty. You can cut it with your fork which is always a good sign. We had one lamb dish, and that was a wee bit chewy. Although we asked for one of the dishes to be spiced up it wasn’t made nearly flavour enough.

The Garlic Nan is a wee bit thicker than we are used to but it is tasty although not very garlicky. Chips were fine, better the second time and we also got more of them on that visit.

It is bring your own bottle, with no cork-age charge, which makes your visit much more reasonable.

Service was a bit slow, but as we were enjoying a blether and got the poppadums quickly it wasn’t a problem.

Overall worth a try, and certainly if you are within walking distance.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Koffee Pot

298 Gorgie Road, EH11 2PP, Edinburgh

3.5 from Vicky (12%) on September 26th, 2014 (3 years ago)

The food is excellent, however I was very taken aback when I asked for potato scone in replacement for two black pudding and was told I would need to pay extra for this. I would have thought it would have been a straight swap of item as opposed to an extra cost. Especially when I only received one potato scone in place of two black pudding.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Cuckoo's Nest

69 Home Street, EH3 9JP, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on July 13th, 2014 (3 years ago)

We visited the Cuckoo's Nest on a sunny Wednesday afternoon. Having booked a table we arrived a wee bit early and found the shutters still down. After a wee walk with our greyhound we returned to find it open. Not sure if it usually opens at that time as it seems to stay open quite late at night. We had the place to ourselves, leaving plenty of room for our dog to do what greyhounds do best, lie down and sleep.

The menu is mainly burgers, beef, lamb and southern fried chicken with a variety of toppings, as well as southern fried chicken wraps and a barbecue pulled pork sandwich. There are also veggie options such as vegetable lasagne and falafel burger. Whilst the Moroccan lamb burger sounded nice, we both settled for the American, which comes with double cheese and fried onions, served with chips, beer battered onion rings and salad. The burgers were tasty, quite meaty and not overcooked so they were still nice and juicy. The fried onions were delicious. Why do more places not include fried onions with their burgers?

Our voucher included cocktails. We had an elderflower mule, which was mainly ginger beer, nice and refreshing. The other cocktail was a French Martini. Like most cocktails too much juice and too little alcohol for our taste.

The Cuckoo's Nest seems more focused on drink than food. Service was okay, but not overly friendly. I remember drinking here in the early 80's, and the décor seemed pretty much as it was then. Overall it is reasonable value, and the food is nice if you like a burger. Not for a romantic meal, but fine if you fancy a burger and a drink.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Madogs Cocktail Bar& Grill

38 George Street, EH2 2NS, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on June 29th, 2013 (4 years ago)

We purchased a voucher for Madogs and decided to use it for a special occasion. We booked for a Sunday evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were a wee bit unsure about what to expect having read a few reviews,particularly about the service.

We were warmly welcomed and shown to a table in the restaurant part of this establishment. It is quite small, but you are screened from the bar and the way people were seated, it felt like we had a bit of privacy.

We ordered cajun chicken nachos with bacon, and battered chicken strips with hot chilli and sweet chilli dips. The nachos was a large portion. The chicken was moist and tasty there were jalapeños, and the usual guacamole,salsa and sour cream. The only disappointing part was that the bacon was in large pieces, fatty and underdone for our taste. The chicken strips were okay, but the hot sauce did have a wee kick to it.

Two rib-eye steaks followed, both with chips and salad, one with a Diane sauce, the other with Missicana sauce. The steaks were ordered rare and medium rare and they weren't too far way from that. Loads of thin fries, nice salad dressing, and there was loads of sauce, served in a large sauce boat. It was tasty and a decent portion.

We thought that the wine was expensive, with our red coming in at £19.50 a bottle.

Overall, we would have been just over £70 without our voucher. Service was efficient and friendly, so overall a good experience. Not really for a romantic meal, and a bit pricey, perhaps this is because of its George Street location.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Wagamama

1 Castle Terrace, EH1 2DP, Edinburgh

andy's image

3.5 from andy (83%) on January 2nd, 2013 (4 years ago)

Ate here on last week with a friend in the evening. Despite there being plenty of tables free we had to wait about 5 minutes for a table. No big deal I suppose.

I had a noodle dish (I can't remember the name, but it was a new one) which wasn't great. Very bland. My fault for choosing badly. A chicken broth with soggy over-cooked noodles and an assortment of meat and seafood. I should have stuck to chilli chicken ramen or something that I knew would be good. My friend ordered Pad Thai which looked much better when it eventually arrived. It arrived just as I was finishing my meal. They apologised for the delay and we didn't have to pay for it.

We shared some fried gyoza and squid rings as well. They were tasty.

With a couple of soft drinks and one free main course the meal came to less than £25 so can't complain at that really.

It's an average Wagamama.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Shore Bar & Restaurant

3/4 The Shore, EH6 6QW, Edinburgh

edidiner's image

3.5 from edidiner (13%) on November 11th, 2012 (4 years ago)

Went for lunch at the Shore, Bar & Restaurant on Wednesday, the food and service was great, but I was surprised that they no longer do a 2 or 3 course set lunch menu

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Mosque Kitchen

33 Nicholson Square, EH8 9BX, Edinburgh

3.5 from Will (30%) on October 22nd, 2012 (4 years ago)

If you are after a decent curry in a hurry this is a good option. They have a selection of about 5-6 curries our and to have one on rice it's about £3-£4.50 with nan/samosa extra.

The food was OK for the price, I had a tasty chicken curry, my wife a somewhat bland veg curry, but for the price and the portion size I think it was OK.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Nine Dragons Chinese Takeaway

144 West Granton Rd, EH5 1PE, Edinburgh

3.5 from maureenmmm (6%) on October 19th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Best omelette in town! Having said that I don't like their currys as the curry sauce is so watered down it's like buying from a supermarket - it's tasteless. But chicken is nice - the curry sauce lets it down. Therefore stops me buyin a chicken curry! The staff are so pleasant! Just a pity about their curry sauce!!! What a let-down!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

City Cafe

19 Blair Street, EH1 1QR, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on September 23rd, 2012 (5 years ago)

We visited the City Café on Tuesday on the strength of a Happli voucher. Its nice to try new places with a bit of discount.

The café is a replica “American Diner”and looks the part with the red tables,chairs and booths. The booths allow you privacy and makes it a pleasant dining experience. Not a romantic setting, but nice for a quick meal or to have a drink.

We both ordered the Burger with button mushrooms and mozzarella cheese and a portion of onion rings, with a diet coke and a pint of Deuchars. £3.50 for a pint isn't cheap, but you can get three pints in a pitcher for £7.

Having the sauces, Heinz Tomato and Mayonnaise, HP Brown, and French's Mustard on the table, along with napkin and sugar dispenser, adds to the “American Diner” feel. The burgers were nice, tasty and not too firm, with plenty cheese and mushrooms. They could have been warmer, and we should perhaps have sent them back. The chips on the other hand were piping hot and really tasty, as were the onion rings which were proper onion, not minced. We did think that £3 for the onion rings was a wee bit pricey. Our burgers would have cost £8.50 including chips, with prices for the other burgers ranging from £7.50 to £9.

We had read that service can be an issue, but our waitress was friendly and efficient. Absolutely no complaints.

Overall tasty food, a good experience, but not a place to have an intimate meal. It is an ”American Diner” after all and does what it says on the tin.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

La Mula Obstinada

46 Queen Charlotte Street, EH6 7EX, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on September 9th, 2012 (5 years ago)

Our first time trying tapas, so armed with our voucher, we visited La Mula Obstinada to try this Spanish style of dinning.

The décor is nice,with wooden floors and a lovely stone wall separating the open kitchen from the dining room. The tables are nice, but you don't see the full glory for the paper tablecloths, presumably to help protect the tables from spillages.

We were shown to a table near the entrance on the lower floor, the concept explained and our wine order taken quickly. Wine was very pleasant, but the cheapest bottle is just over £15. The wine we ordered was not available,but was replaced by a nice Rioja for the same price.

First course was bread, cheese,cold meats, salad, olives and what we think was described as a “romana” sauce.

This was okay, with the sauce being the tastiest part. Not sure what we expected, but the bread wasn't as home made and tasty as we'd hoped. Thereafter the food arrived at a fast and furious pace, perhaps because at this point, just after 6, the restaurant was quiet.

This may be wrong,but we think that we got tortilla, and garlic mushrooms, both of which were delicious. A “kebab” of chicken, chorizo, Spanish black pudding or sausage, with onions and peppers. Again this was very tasty. Next on the list was chicken drumsticks,and “potatas bravas” (excuse the spelling). The tatties were lovely, and the chicken was succulent, but could have done with more of the sauce. The meatballs were unusual, but tasty and not too dense. They came with toasted cheese topped with fig. The disappointment was a cabbage wrapped meat ball or loaf type thing with chick peas. The chick peas were nice, but the meatball lacked flavour and wasn't very pleasant.

At this point we asked fro some time before we got any more food. After a rest we were given a bean stew, with sausage, the Spanish black pudding, and chorizo. This was possibly the best dish of the evening. We were offered another course, but settled for pudding. Cranberry ice cream was lovely, the lemon cake delicious.

Service was too quick to begin with, and seemed to be directed to the male diner rather than the female. My wife felt invisible to the male waiter who spoke only to me. This was not just us, but also the other two couples near us. Whilst he poured the wine to the men at an adjoining table first, the waitress served my wife first. Very efficient it has to be said. The waitress who brought our food was however friendly and took time to explain what each dish was.

A very pleasant experience, nice food, but probably a wee bit out of our comfort zone. A second visit when we know what to expect would probably be fair to judge this experience.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...40 41 next