Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

3.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 404 3.5 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...40 41 next

Samuels Chinese Takeaway

14 Portland Place, EH6 6LA, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on May 26th, 2011 (6 years ago)

We got a takeaway last weekend. Samuel's is excellent value for money, with the bill for beef and black bean sauce, crispy shredded chilli chicken, two chips and soft noodles, along with the complimentary prawn crackers and irn bru coming to just over £13. The beef was really tender, and, for want of a better expression, the sauce is full of black bean flavour and really tasty. The crispy chicken was succulent and flavoursome. Chips were also tasty., Don't know what oil they are cooked in, but they have a typically distinctive flavour we like. Recommended.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Chez Jules

109 Hanover Street, EH2 1DJ, Edinburgh

3.5 from jamesleon (61%) on May 22nd, 2011 (6 years ago)

A restaurant that charges £9.95 for steak frites is never going to be a high-end gastronomic experience - but can it still be an enjoyable and tasty evening out? In Chez Jules' case - it very much can.

As mentioned, a plate of salami - a nicely dressed salad, bread and butter arrive on the house and kick things off to a nice start. We shared 6 fresh, if not massive, oysters (£1.35/each) and a plate of charcuterie for starters. The hams and pate weren't of exceptional quality but were plentiful and perfectly reasonble for the price (£5.70).

Mains were about right for the price. Tolouse sausage and fries came with an aoili (£8.50)- it wasn't an exciting plate of food, but the sausage was of good quality and the fries very nice. I've had better mussles than the Moules Frites (£9.60)at Chez J, but what they lacked in depth of flavour they made up for in quantity. The sauce was a bit thin, but the mussels were of nice size and quality. More of those fries were a welcome addition. The deserts were fine, crepe with chocolate sauce and ice cream. Nothing notable going on here.

The restaurant was absolutely heaving on the Friday night I went, but the service actually coped very well. The food came quickly, and the 3 staff that served us were all very polite and nice, despite being obviously stressed.

I would absolutely recommend Chez Jules for budget eats in a jolly & relaxed atmosphere. Don't expect mind-blowing stuff - but its homemade, hearty and for the most part tasty.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Basement

10a-12a Broughton Street, EH1 3RH, Edinburgh

3.5 from poultox (14%) on May 1st, 2011 (6 years ago)

We had lunch from the set menu recently. I had chicken tagine with veg couscous, and the fella had seabass with chips and salad, we both followed with an ungodly portion of sticky toffee pudding.

The food was delicious, VERY generous, and a bargain at £9.50 for two courses. The service is perfectly adequate. The atmosphere is a bit bleak and much more suited to the busy evening drinkers.

I definitely consider The Basement to be a bar that serves good food rather than a restaurant. It does it's own little thing quite well, don't go in with high expectations and you won't be disappointed.

(0) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Jolly Ristorante & Pizzeria

9 Elm Row, EH7 4AA, Edinburgh

3.5 from slovakyak (5%) on April 18th, 2011 (6 years ago)

Like the attitude where it's geared up to food and service rather than earning money.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Traverse Bar Cafe

10 Cambridge Street, EH1 2ED, Edinburgh

3.5 from coolas (12%) on April 17th, 2011 (6 years ago)

A bit pricey but done with panache. Food, decor and the stage.

(+1) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Café Nom de Plume

60 Broughton Street, EH1 3SA, Edinburgh

3.5 from ashley (12%) on April 15th, 2011 (6 years ago)

The stylish dining rooms and good service make gourmet dining here rather special, I had the fish - done to perfection and everyone in the group had nice things to say about their meals.

(+2) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Ghillie Dhu

2-6 Rutland Place, EH1 2AD, Edinburgh

3.5 from craig777 (100%) on March 3rd, 2011 (6 years ago)

I love this place. I have been here for many a night out and it is such a refreshing change from other places on George Street. It's an anything goes type of place and caters to most ages. They run Ceilidhs on Fridays which friends have been to and loved, it's usually always busy on a Saturday and it’s a great place to watch the rugby on a 6 nation’s weekend.

I went here for lunch/dinner one Sunday during the festival so it was relatively quiet. The menu had a good variety on it with sandwiches, old pub favourites such as macaroni cheese, as well as more formal mains of salmon/lamb chops. The service was good and the food was also very good - I had the macaroni cheese (to help with the hangover!) and it was brilliant, I remember the chips being really good as well.

Sandwiches range from £5-7 with other mains ranging from £7-12 depending what you go for.

I wouldn’t suggest this place to people for an intimate dinner as it is just such a big room but if you are looking for somewhere fun with mates to go to for a pub lunch or dinner then this is a great place. Because it’s so dark inside it’s more suited to winter nights as it’s the kind of place that you could lose your day in. They have a great set up of some wee booths which are great for small groups of friends to get together.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Filling Station

235 High Street, EH1 1PE, Edinburgh

3.5 from brindy (9%) on January 9th, 2011 (6 years ago)

Have had a few boozy nights in here, but rarely sat down for food. It's your typical "American diner" menu consisting of a range of dishes including burgers, pasta, pizza, etc. I actually had the jambalaya and it was pretty spectacular. The portions aren't massive, but they are just about the right size so that you can have a starter/main or main/desert without feeling bloated. However, it was a little expensive. Some of the booth seats need some TLC as well, so that made the place look a little grotty, unfortunately.

(0) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Hard Rock Cafe

20 George Street, EH2 2PF, Edinburgh

3.5 from brindy (9%) on January 9th, 2011 (6 years ago)

I always enjoy HRC wherever I go and thankfully Edinburgh is no exception. The staff are really friendly and the food is standard HRC food... good sized chunky, tasty, grub! The bar is a little small compared to some other HRCs I've been to, but the restaurant area is quite extensive and service is usually really quick.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Compass

44 Queen Charlotte Street, EH7 6EX, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3.5 from ciamara (42%) on October 14th, 2010 (7 years ago)

The Compass is a really inviting bar/restuarant, with the candles in bottles, nice wooden tables and stone walls all teasing you in. They could dim the big lights a wee bit more for our taste. We got a nice friendly welcome, and received fantastic service all night. Water, flavoured with strawberries, mint and cucumber along with the bread, butter, oil and balsamic vinegar is a really nice touch, with the water being refilled throughout the night.

The Chilean Toki wine was light and refreshing, reasonably priced at under £14. The fish and chips was absolutely fabulous and the homemade tartar sauce, the nicest that I've had. The cajun chicken came with advice that it was really spicy. Although moist and tender it did not deliver the spicy kick we were promised, and the chilli mayonaisse lacked punch, being simply chilli powder sprinkled on top of the mayo. Chips seemed to be fairly standard frozen fare.

Having seen the sweet menu on the blackboard we waited till we found room to share the sticky toffee pudding. The sauce and ice cream were fine, but the sponge was dry and tasted like it had been microwaved. Not worth the wait and a poor end to the meal. We will go back however.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...40 41 next