Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

3.5 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 404 3.5 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 ...37 38 39 40 41 next

Urban Angel

121 Hanover Street, EH2 1DJ, Edinburgh

3.5 from jwjlewis (64%) on July 16th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Fairly quirky layout. The food, whilst not amazing, is pretty good. If you're in this part of town and need a snack, it's got what you need.

(+1) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Tian Tian

8 Gillespie Place, EH10 4HS, Edinburgh

3.5 from jwjlewis (64%) on July 16th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Having been three times, I must like it at least a bit:

The first time I had the most amazing steak. Second time I had an average meal. Third time I had good food again, but I had to move table as someone started smoking right next to us - but then it is a French restaurant. Without that to worry about now though it should be a fine evening out.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Hard Rock Cafe

20 George Street, EH2 2PF, Edinburgh

steven's image

3.5 from steven (25%) on July 12th, 2007 (10 years ago)

The usual Hard Rock Cafe fair with rock memorabilia on the walls etc. It's pretty cheesy, but if you have a Pig Sandwich craving it's the only place to go!

(+1) (+2) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Assembly

41 Lothian Street, EH1 1HB, Edinburgh

3.5 from mdavidson (96%) on July 6th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Has a good range of your standard bar food offering and prices are very reasonable. A good place to eat if you are after a quick bite.

(0) (+5) (-1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Villager

49-50 George IV Bridge, EH1 1EJ, Edinburgh

rachybaby's image

3.5 from rachybaby (68%) on July 5th, 2007 (10 years ago)

I think Mr Davidson's review is slightly unfair! Although they may operate a ridiculous door policy (being a girl I have never experienced those particular problems) I think Villager is a great restaurant/bar to visit. The staff are friendly and it has an atmospheric and unique interior. Furthermore, they have just got a new food and cocktail menu which I think is great. I highly recommend their mushroom risotto and venison burger.

(+1) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Basement

10a-12a Broughton Street, EH1 3RH, Edinburgh

rachybaby's image

3.5 from rachybaby (68%) on July 5th, 2007 (10 years ago)

I went here for the first time two nights ago and was pleasantly suprised. The food is cheap (around £6/£7) for a home-cooked main course of a considerable portion! It is mexican-themed but there is a good choice of traditional cuisine also. Only bad points are that the lighting is bad and that it seems compulsory for staff to wear a ridiculous amount of body piercings...

(+2) (+2) (+1)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The New York Steam Packet

31 Rose Street Lane North, EH2 2NP, Edinburgh

andy's image

3.5 from andy (83%) on July 4th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Image by andy

They do a really cheap set menu. The steak is good and worth paying the couple of quid extra for. Starter and desserts are nothing special. Restaurant is very hard to find - up an alley off one of the lanes off Rose Street.

As it's a cheap and cheerful kind of place, you book a table for a predefined time block and need to vacate the table by a certain time. Not a problem, so long as you know.

(0) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

B'est

16 Drummond Street, EH8 9TX, Edinburgh

3.5 from alison (12%) on July 2nd, 2007 (10 years ago)

Great place for good value early evening suppers. Food is very tasty and well cooked. Let down by decor, could do with a little facelift, it all looks a bit tired.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Blonde

75 St Leonard's Street, EH8 9QR, Edinburgh

3.5 from alison (12%) on July 2nd, 2007 (10 years ago)

Never had a bad meal at this little restaurant. Always a good selection of tasty dishes well presented. Would definitely reccommend for a no frills supper.

(-1) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Centraal

32a West Nicolson Street, EH8 9DD, Edinburgh

3.5 from Owen (21%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Fine selection of (slightly pricey) Belgian beers. They are arguably worth it though for the taste and alcohol content. Certainly better than a warm pint of Miller that you get elsewhere. Nice comfy sofas for relaxing too. Has a good vibe, even on week nights since it is often frequented by the Newington student crowd.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 ...37 38 39 40 41 next