Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

3 Star Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 258 3 star reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...25 26 next

Rudi's Deli

30 Forrest Road, EH1 2QN, Edinburgh

3 from Stephanie (6%) on October 2nd, 2015 (1 year ago)

Rudis is a nice little place and what's on offer is of very good quality, however I'm always surprised at how little filling there is in their sandwiches.

If you like very little bang for your buck you should eat there.

If you like a sandwich to be filled properly I'd suggest going further down Lauriston place to the sandwich shop next to the barbers as they are similarly priced but give much more in their sandwiches.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Nawroz

30 Potterrow, EH8 9BT, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3 from ciamara (42%) on September 13th, 2015 (1 year ago)

We have visited Nawroz twice recently, both times with a voucher for the Kurdish Feast. The “Feast” itself is priced at £60 on the menu. Both times we had a voucher which cost £29.00. Nawroz is however BYOB, which helps to keep the cost of a meal down.

The “Feast” includes a mixed starters, mixed grill and an eastern sweet selection. Starters include falafel, fried Nan bread, hummus, various stuffed vine leaves etc. It is all quite pleasant, but fairly bland.

Mains are chicken wings, chicken and lamb tikka, and chicken and lamb kebabs, served on rice and salad with Nan bread. You also get two side dishes, one potato, one okra, but both tasted fairly bland to us. It is all nicely cooked, and seems good quality, but we would recommend getting chili sauce to spice up the meat.

Dessert was our favourite of all the courses, wee bits of Turkish Delight, baklava and ice cream. The sweetness of the baklava and Turkish Delight complements the ice cream nicely.

The restaurant itself is quite pleasant, and the service is fine, although it tends be focused on the man rather than the women. The toilets were alright, but a long hike down stairs to get there. Overall it was okay, but we wouldn’t pay £60 for the “Feast” and, for us, don’t think it was worth the £30 we paid for the voucher.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Ghillie Dhu

2-6 Rutland Place, EH1 2AD, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3 from ciamara (42%) on April 27th, 2014 (3 years ago)

We visited the Ghillie Dhu on a Saturday afternoon for brunch complete with Bloody Marys.

The building is fabulous. Wooden floors, beams, stone columns it really is lovely. The seating is also brilliant, with lots of wee booths, cosy nooks, etc. There are also two large booths with doors, which would be brilliant for a party of six or eight. A lovely place to visit. The Ghillie Dhu is also very clean, including the toilets.

As for the brunch, the coffee was good, the Bloody Mary was okay, as were the bacon, tattie scone, grilled tomato, the wee drop beans and mushrooms. However the black pudding and haggis were pretty bland, the scrambled eggs over cooked, whilst the sausage was ordinary and as uninspiring as the building is memorable. It didn't taste like a butchers sausage that you get from Crombies etc. We felt that a better quality sausage, black pudding and haggis would improve the meal no end. The toast was chargrilled ciabatta. It was fine, but proper toasted good quality bread would probably go better with a brunch. The food was warm rather than hot, despite the hot plates it was served on. It looks like a large plateful until you move the ciabatta!

Overall it is a lovely bar, good service and well worth a visit. Can't really recommend the brunch however.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Hard Rock Cafe

20 George Street, EH2 2PF, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3 from ciamara (42%) on April 22nd, 2014 (3 years ago)

Having booked on their on-line priority booking system, we were originally shown to a table near the toilets, but after asking to be moved, we were shown to a booth. It had been about 15 years since two of us had been to Hard Rock, although the other two eat here for special occasions.

We ordered a bottle of rose wine, a beer and a flavoured vodka, as well as glasses of water.

We shared a jumbo combo to start. This included potato skins, chicken wings, chicken tenders, spring rolls, onion rings along with dips and lettuce.

For mains, we all had burgers, three hickory barbecue bacon cheese burgers, one of these we asked for with the heavy metal sauce instead of the barbecue sauce, which was no problem and one SOB. We also ordered a portion of onion rings. The barbecue comes basted with hickory barbecue sauce and topped with caramelised onions, cheddar cheese, smoked bacon, lettuce etc. Can't remember what was on the SOB. The burgers were all nice, as were the chips and onion rings. The starter was more memorable than the burgers.

Service was friendly, the whole place is clean, full of memorabilia, but the tables all seemed to be on top of each other. Not a problem for us in a booth, but we wouldn't fancy being quite so crammed in.

Overall everything was nice enough. Total bill was just over £100! To be honest there are a number of places in Edinburgh where you can get a nicer burger at half the price. I think it will be a while before we venture back.

(+1) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Food For You

189 Morningside Road, EH10 4QP, Edinburgh

3 from Kelly (12%) on February 6th, 2014 (3 years ago)

Good food. Little overpriced delivery takes ages and ordered prawn crackers twice and forgotten twice - who eats a chinese without prawn crackers?!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Yak and Yeti

13 Newington Rd, EH9 1QR, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3 from ciamara (42%) on October 1st, 2013 (3 years ago)

We visited Yak and Yeti early on a Saturday evening,armed with a Deal Monster voucher for two course meal for two people for £15.

Service was just a bit too formal and overly attentive for our liking. The décor was fine, but the tables in the middle don't afford any privacy. They agreed to us sitting against a wall as the restaurant was empty when we arrived. Larger table and much nicer position.

We started with Piro Kukhara, garlic chilli chicken with onion and peppers, and Lamb Sekwa, fried with nepalese spices. These were both very pleasant, although the chicken dish was a wee bit sweet.

For mains we had the Bhuteko Khasi, lamb cooked with garlic and green chilli and a Lusuni Khukhara, garlic nepalese chicken with onions, peppers and green chilli, accompanied by garlic nan bread. Again the chicken was too sweet for our taste, whilst the lamb dish was tasty. Neither was particularly spicy, although we were warned that they were very hot and spicy.

The nan bread was tasty. The garlic one was”more garlicky” than the chilli one was “Chilli”, but we enjoyed them both.

The wine wasn't too badly priced, but the owner waiter insisted on pouring it. He even poured some when asked not to.

On the plus side,we were given complimentary poppadums. The sauces and pickles that accompanied them were tasty.

It was okay. Glad we tried, but we will stick to Indian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi cuisine in future.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Mr So Chinese Takeaway

42 Portobello Rd, EH8 7EL, Edinburgh

3 from Customer (6%) on July 21st, 2013 (4 years ago)

Food not too bad although it used to be better. They have a Scottish girl behind the counter who is very polite. The owner can be arrogant and not very nice.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The White Horse

266 Canongate, EH8 8AA, Edinburgh

ciamara's image

3 from ciamara (42%) on March 24th, 2013 (4 years ago)

We purchased a voucher to get nachos to share and two burgers as we had passed this pub in the Canongate many times and it looked inviting. It is a traditional pub with a small front area and a larger room through the back, with traditional stone walls We were shown to a table through the back. Surroundings were nice and they put a heater on for us. Still a wee bit cold though.

We shared chicken nachos, typical “pub” nachos, with jalapeños, salsa, guacamole and sour cream. The chicken was full of flavour. Tasty.

The burgers were tasty, but plain. We had read reviews which suggested they were overdone, but ours were nicely cooked and juicy. They came with a wee bit salad and a handful of plain tortilla chips. There was sauce etc., but the burgers could with done with some burger or onion relish, and we like chips with our burgers.

Drinks were quite expensive at over £7 for a pint and a glass of wine, but probably in line with “High Street” prices.

Overall good value with the voucher,but we would suggest that it is a pub which does snacks rather than meals.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Buffalo Grill

12-14 Chapel Street, EH8 9AY, Edinburgh

3 from Rachel anderson (12%) on November 11th, 2012 (4 years ago)

Food is amazing - chefs are top of their game. Really really nice. Service was however really not that good, one of the female waitresses is extremely rude, and clearly does not stick to "customer is always right" and will quite happy argue the toss with you in the middle of the restaurant. Their policies on BYO are not clear. Would I go again - NO, not after the staff's attitude. It's not a friendly welcoming place they are looking to get you feed and out ASAP to make money.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Keane's House

230A Portobello High Street, EH15 2AU, Edinburgh

3 from jbm5 (25%) on November 6th, 2012 (4 years ago)

We tried a meal from here at the weekend. It has a range of Chinese and Thai food and the benefit of a positive review elsewhere online. I opted for Chinese, my partner went for Thai style.

This included hot and sour soup, dumplings, singapore spiced noodles and thai green curry.

I think, in conclusion, the meal was satisfactory. Everything seemed fresh and not dripping in fat (as some Chinese can be) but was all a little short of flavour. Maybe it was just lacking the usual excess dosage of salt and MSG. I think we'd definitely try it again and try and draw a definite conclusion.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 3 4 5 ...25 26 next