Menus, listings and special offers for all Edinburgh restaurants, cafés, takeaways and pubs

Logo

Restaurant and Takeaway Reviews

Browsing the newest of 3525 reviews on EdinburghMenus.com.

Order by
prev 1 2 ...349 350 351 352 353 next

Buffalo Grill

12-14 Chapel Street, EH8 9AY, Edinburgh

4 from mdavidson (96%) on June 28th, 2007 (10 years ago)

I was pleasantly surprised to have one of the best steaks I've had in Edinburgh here. This place is good fun and they don't seem to mind if you get a bit rowdy - though you should maybe bear this in mind if you fancy a quiet meal as you could be sat beside a party of 10 footballers.

(+2) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Canny Man's

239 Morningside Road, EH10 4QU, Edinburgh

4.5 from mdavidson (96%) on June 28th, 2007 (10 years ago)

A good pub for just beer or food. The menu is not conventional but instead is a smorgasbord - basically a vast selection of open sandwiches, which is far superior to the generic pub menus that you normally encounter. Another highlight is the gentleman's coffee, where you are presented with an espresso and a bottle of brandy.

(+3) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Centraal

32a West Nicolson Street, EH8 9DD, Edinburgh

3.5 from Owen (21%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Fine selection of (slightly pricey) Belgian beers. They are arguably worth it though for the taste and alcohol content. Certainly better than a warm pint of Miller that you get elsewhere. Nice comfy sofas for relaxing too. Has a good vibe, even on week nights since it is often frequented by the Newington student crowd.

(-1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Canny Man's

239 Morningside Road, EH10 4QU, Edinburgh

4.5 from Owen (21%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

An Edinburgh institution. Benefits from not being in the city centre and oozes character with the random assortment of wall decorations. It's quite old school in that phones and cameras aren't allowed, but if you can cope with that, it's well worth a visit. A proper pub in a world of pretentious style bars - what a treat.

(+2) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Golf Tavern

30-31 Wright's Houses, EH10 4HR, Edinburgh

4 from Owen (21%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

A very good bar for watching live sport. If you get in early enough (like we did for the FA Cup final this year) and get a booth upstairs, it is sport-viewing at its finest. They are quite good at putting different games on different screens so there are no arguments about which game they should be showing.

The food is good too and I can recommend the fry up on a hungover Sunday.

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Centotre

103 George Street, EH2 3ES, Edinburgh

andy's image

4 from andy (83%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Image by andy

Excellent Italian food in a grand old banking hall on George Street. And very well priced with most of the mains between £10 and £15. Helpings are generous - perhaps even too large. I was really hungry and struggled to finish my starter (Bruschette) and main (Contadino - mushroomy pasta dish - very good).

(0) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Bar Napoli

75 Hanover Street, EH2 1EE, Edinburgh

andy's image

3.5 from andy (83%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

This place is a good bet if you're in town at lunch time and want a cheap feed. They always do some sort of a deal on a 3 course lunch. It's only £5, or something - much better option than going for a McDonalds!

As you'd expect, the starter and dessert are pretty basic (soup and ice-cream), but the main course is usually decent.

(0) (+2) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Agua

Apex City of Edinburgh, EH1 2JF, Edinburgh

andy's image

3.5 from andy (83%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Ate here on a Sunday evening with an offer - 2 courses for 2 people for £20, or something. Excellent food and incredible value for money. Not sure if I would return and pay their full prices though.

The restaurant lacks character or charm - it definitely feels like a hotel restaurant. Our impression of it certainly wasn't helped by the fact that we visited on a Sunday night when the restaurant was almost deserted.

Recommended if you're in the Grassmarket and want a meal where you're not surrounded by stag and hen parties!

(0) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Le Sept

5 Hunter Square, EH1 1QW, Edinburgh

3.5 from Owen (21%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

We went here on a Tuesday night. It was fairly quiet inside which meant it lacked a bit of atmosphere. I guess it has a better vibe at weekends or during the festival.

The food was very good though. The savoury crepes are the best value things on the menu and very filling. The staff were friendly but not overbearing which was ideal.

(+1) (0) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

The Cambridge Bar

20 Young Street, EH2 4JB, Edinburgh

4 from mdavidson (96%) on June 27th, 2007 (10 years ago)

Image by mdavidson

Specialises in gourmet burgers, with over 20 different burgers-combos on the menu, and they really are quite tasty. Generally has quite a lively atmosphere and is good fun.

(+1) (+1) (0)

Sign up or log in to moderate this review

Order by
prev 1 2 ...349 350 351 352 353 next